The Different Types of Pilot’s License

We’ve all dreamed of learning to fly like a bird. Sadly, our motor skills won’t allow us to swoop through the sky, so instead, we ride an airplane. Think about it, a view from above like no other as you soar through the air.

Few professions are more romanticized and more desired by many than being a pilot. But the truth is that becoming a pilot is a lot harder than most people expect.

There are many different steps involved in the process: getting accepted at a school, mastering the necessary skills, and then dealing with the Federal Aviation Administration and the various agencies to receive your pilot’s license.

This article will discuss the different types of pilot’s licenses. Keep reading to learn more!

Private Pilot License

A private pilot license allows someone to operate an aircraft for personal use. There are different types of private pilot licenses, each with different requirements. The most common type of private pilot license is the piston engine license, which requires at least 40 hours of flight time.

Other types of private pilot licenses include the turbine engine license and the rotorcraft license. Each type of license has different requirements, but all require a written exam and a flight test.

Commercial Pilot License

A commercial pilot’s license is required to fly a commercial plane, while a private pilot’s license is required to fly a private plane. There are also different types of pilot’s licenses for different types of planes, such as a multi-engine or a seaplane.

A pilot must have a license for the specific type of plane that they plan to fly.

Airline Transport Pilot License

The airline transport pilot license is the highest level of pilot’s license and is required to be a captain or first officer of a scheduled airline. To obtain an airline pilot, you must have at least 1,500 hours of flight time and pass a series of exams.

You can also learn to fly by enrolling in a flight school. Just make sure you know how to pick the right school for you.  

Sport Pilot License

A sport pilot license is the easiest and most affordable way to become a licensed pilot. There are no age or medical requirements, and you can fly with a passenger as long as you stay within certain rules.

The downside is that you’re limited to flying daytime only, in good weather, and you can’t fly cross-country. If you’re looking to get a pilot’s license quickly and easily, the sport pilot license is the way to go.

Recreational Pilot License

A Recreational Pilot License (RPL) allows an individual to fly a single-engine plane for recreational purposes only. To get an RPL, an individual must complete at least 20 hours of flight training, including at least 15 hours of dual instruction and 5 hours of solo flight time.

An RPL does not allow an individual to fly for hire or compensation.

Get a Pilot’s License Today

There are many different pilot’s license available depending on what you want to fly and how you want to fly it. Each license has different requirements, so make sure you do your research before you decide which one is right for you.

Once you have your license, you’ll be able to enjoy the freedom and exhilaration of flying!

For more insightful articles, we encourage you to check out the rest of our blog now.