What Are Class 4 Weapons? A Quick Guide

If you’re a gun enthusiast, you probably know the classifications for firearms. Think of it like how firearms get ranked in martial arts. Each level above is more capable than the last one.

In gun classification, there are several tiers of firearms. Each one for different ranges or capacities. One of the more commonly used classifications is class 4 weapons, commonly known as NFA weapons.

But what is the NFA classification, and what can you use it for? That depends on the specific weapon within the class, but in general, we can tell you more about class 4 weapons. Read on.

Class 4 Weapons in the United States

In the United States, the classification of firearms is typically referred to as the National Firearms Act (NFA) classification. Class 4 weapons under the NFA include

  • machine Guns
  • short-Barreled Rifles (SBRs)
  • short-Barreled Shotguns (SBSs)
  • destructive Devices

These weapons are subject to additional regulations and restrictions. This includes the federal registration process, background checks, and the payment of taxes.

Machine Guns

Machine guns are firearms that can fire multiple rounds with a single trigger pull. They can be fully automatic (continuously firing as long as the trigger is held down). They are also capable of bursting fire (firing a predetermined number of rounds with a single trigger pull).

To own a machine gun, a very lengthy and extensive background check is required. Additionally, a special firearms license must be obtained from the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF). The gun must also be registered with the ATF as well as with state and local governments.

Short-Barreled Rifles (SBRs)

SBRs are rifles with barrel lengths of less than 16 inches. They tend to be more portable than other firearms making them convenient for self-defense. However, these weapons are tightly regulated and require additional paperwork in comparison to other firearms.

To own an SBR, an individual must complete the Bureau of Alcohol Tobacco Firearms and Explosives (ATF) Form 4 with photos and fingerprints. Individuals must also pay a $200 federal tax bill and wait a minimum of 6 months for approval. For top-quality ammunition, check out the 6.5 Creedmore brass linked here.

Short-Barreled Shotguns (SBSs)

These shotguns usually have a barrel length of less than 18 inches and an overall length of 26 inches or less. They are primarily used for sport shooting and hunting. It is illegal to modify a shotgun to fit the criteria of an SBS.

To obtain an SBS, an individual must submit an application and registration fee to the ATF. The individual must also complete an ATF Form 4, obtain fingerprints, provide a recent photo, and secure the signature of a Chief Law Enforcement Officer. After the ATF clears the application, the owner will receive the weapon with a tax stamp typically within 6-8 months.

Destructive Devices

Destructive devices encompass a wide range of explosive and incendiary devices, including grenades, rockets, and bombs. These items are subject to strict regulations due to their potential to cause significant harm and damage.

Purchasing and Owning a Class 4 Weapon

Class 4 weapons are controlled items that are considered militarily-grade weapons. Purchasing and owning these weapons is strictly regulated by the National Firearms Act of 1934. Only certain individuals with special permits and licenses are eligible to own and use these weapons.

Those caught possessing them without a valid license can incur heavy criminal penalties. It is important to understand the laws in your jurisdiction before engaging in any activities involving a class four weapon.

For more on this topic, please visit our blog!