With TABC (Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission) certification, you’ll have the knowledge and abilities to steer clear of the most common alcohol service infractions. In addition, your employer will feel more at ease knowing they’re doing their part to keep customers safe.
Getting your TABC license is relatively simple, but you should know a few things first. The TABC requires your social security number and date of birth. If you don’t have a social security number, you can use your ITIN or MRIV instead. The TABC licensing also has some regulations on the areas that your business may be located in. For example, if you plan to sell alcoholic beverages, you must ensure that the establishment is at least 300 feet away from public schools, churches, and hospitals. Similarly, cities and counties may require you to maintain distance from daycare centers. If you’re unsure whether you’ll need a TABC license, you can check out the requirements in your area by requesting a copy from TABC.
Once your TABC license, you must follow all the liquor laws and regulations. In addition, you must display the vital signs and report any disturbances. You can also obtain free signs from the TABC, including the 60-Day sign. This sign is meant to notify the public that you’re planning to sell alcohol and must be placed outside your business premises for at least 60 days before TABC issues your license.
A TABC certification course will teach you how to serve alcohol safely, prevent liability, and refuse customers. This course also teaches you how to handle customers who are intoxicated. This certificate is valid for two years. There are no minimum age requirements or criminal background requirements for certification.
In Texas, alcohol server certification is not mandatory, but most employers will ask that their employees receive certification. For example, some employers require certification for door staff, cashiers, and seller servers. For retail and manufacturing businesses, TABC certification will help them expand their areas of operation and conduct additional activities.
The TABC is implementing new fee structures and licensing systems as part of its AIMS program. The new fee structure and the licensing system will eliminate the need for multiple licenses for most businesses. The TABC has also reduced the number of licenses from 75 to 37. In addition, the new license will include additional authorities, including the ability to work under different names.
In addition to the state fee, TABC also charges a local fee. Local fees will vary, so you should contact your city’s tax assessor for details. In addition to TABC fees, most cities in Texas have their licensing standards, so check with your local tax assessor about these requirements.
You need a permit to sell alcoholic beverages. This license allows you to sell alcoholic beverages, purchased or mixed, and certain types of food. It also includes restrictions regarding excessive consumption and promotions on the premises. Once you have one, you can sell alcoholic beverages on Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays.
To comply with TABC rules, you should serve only alcohol to adults. In addition, Texas law prohibits serving alcohol to people under 21 years of age. You will be fined and even arrested if you violate these laws.